SPI Pharma is a supplier of functional excipients, antacid actives and drug-delivery technologies to the pharmaceutical and nutritional industries, describing its objective as to "engineer functional materials that enable customers to solve formulation problems, achieve differentiation and gain speed to market". Its portfolio includes mannitols, taste-masked actives, tartaric acid pellets, lubricants, sugars, calcium carbonate, antacid actives (aluminium and magnesium compounds), digestive-aid actives, mineral-supplement ingredients and vaccine adjuvants. The company is owned by Associated British Foods and is part of the ABF Ingredients (ABFI) division.
No source recorded for this listing. The details below have not been traced to a published source by this platform.
Strategic positioning
Engineered excipients and taste-masking for chewable, fast-dissolve and softgel forms.
Supplier scorecard · deterministic, rules-based — not AIiHow these scores are obtained: each one is computed from this profile's listed attributes — capability checkboxes, certifications, capacity figures and coverage — by a fixed formula, recomputed on every page load. Deterministic and rules-based means the score comes from a fixed, transparent formula over listed attributes — the same inputs always produce the same score. It is not AI: there is no model, no learning, and no hidden weighting. Whether a score is relevant to you depends on your specific project: a capability that raises the number may not matter for your work, and a niche strength your project needs may barely move it. Capability scores are a directional starting point, not a verdict. A lower score does not disqualify a company or consultant, and no decision should rest on the score alone — always contact the company directly to confirm the specifics for your project.
Compliance iCounts agency registrations (FDA, EU GMP, MHRA, PMDA, WHO GMP, NMPA, PIC/S) at 6 points each capped at 35, ISO certifications at 5 each capped at 20, GMP status (cGMP commercial 25, GMP 18, Pharma-grade 10), plus DMF 7, CEP 7 and TSE/BSE statement 6. Levels: 80+ Fully GMP-compliant | 60-79 GMP-compliant | 40-59 Developing compliance | below 40 Research-grade. Whether this dimension matters for you depends on your specific project.
25Research-grade
Quality iBlends the reported audit score (up to 40 points), CAPA closure rate (up to 25) and deviation history (starts at 20 and loses 2 points per deviation), plus 8 for CoA availability and 7 for validation packages. Levels: 85+ Excellent quality | 65-84 Strong quality | 45-64 Good quality | below 45 Developing. Whether this dimension matters for you depends on your specific project.
—Not disclosed
Delivery iBlends on-time delivery percentage (up to 50 points), lead time (up to 30 - shorter is better, 2 points lost per week; 15 if not reported) and service level (Emergency supply 20, Expedited 14, Standard 8). Levels: 85+ Highly reliable | 65-84 Reliable | 45-64 Standard | below 45 Variable. Whether this dimension matters for you depends on your specific project.
—Not disclosed
Documentation iCounts documents in the profile vault at 5 points each, capped at 35, plus flags for a Certificate of Analysis (15), validation packages (15), DMF (10), CEP (10) and a TSE/BSE statement (5). Levels: 80+ Full documentation | 60-79 Strong documentation | 40-59 Established | below 40 Basic. Whether this dimension matters for you depends on your specific project.
0Basic
Regulatory iCounts regulatory regions declared at 7 points each capped at 40, QMS maturity scaled by 1.5 (Validated 30, Established 18, Basic 6) capped at 30, and 15 for a declared FDA registration. Only the sub-scores a supplier has actually published count, and the total is rescaled to 0-100 over those - a missing input is never scored against it. Reports the dimension as undisclosed - no number, no bar - when neither a region nor a QMS tier is on file. No band claims inspection evidence; that lives in the cited certificate register. Levels: 80+ Strong regulatory | 55-79 Established | below 55 Developing. Whether this dimension matters for you depends on your specific project.
—Not disclosed
Breadth iCounts product categories at 7 points each capped at 35, catalog size at 3 points per listed product capped at 30, modalities served at 4 each capped at 20, plus 8 for sterile-grade and 7 for GMP-grade offerings. Levels: 80+ Broad portfolio | 60-79 Multi-category | 40-59 Focused | below 40 Specialist. Whether this dimension matters for you depends on your specific project.